Sun, 14 August, 2022


  • David Thompson – Life president

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    DAVID THOMPSON joined the Daily Mirror as a news sub-editor in 1966. Two years on he was in the political team becoming …

  • Tom Brown – Life vice-president

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    Tom Brown trained in Scotland, then worked on the Daily Express in London 1964-78 as news reporter, news and features executive, medical …

  • Deborah Thomas – Chairman

    Posted: March 13th, 2017

    DEBORAH THOMAS, who was appointed chairman of AMP in June 2017,  got her first journalistic job on the iconic ’60s magazine, Nova, …

  • Gerald Mowbray – Secretary

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    Gerald Mowbray spent most of his working life in the general printing industry in various management positions before moving to MGN and …

  • Ray Evans – Treasurer

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    RAY EVANS started at Mirror Group in 1968 as a clerk in the transport department, and later became supervisor in a new …

  • Caro Cluskey – Editor/website

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    CARO CLUSKEY enjoyed a long and successful career with Odhams Newspapers and Mirror Group, first on the Sunday People and latterly in …

  • Bill Berentemfel

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    BILL BERENTEMFEL joined the Mirror organisation in 1961 working for the Sunday Pictorial. He transferred to IPC in 1966 when the IPC …

  • Jean Carr

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    JEAN CARR worked as a staff journalist for over 35 years on student, local, regional and national newspapers. She was one of …

  • Rob Cunningham

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    Rob Cunningham began work as a graphic artist, and in 1991, joined the process department of the SDR&SM until early retirement in …

  • George Easton

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    GEORGE EASTON joined the Daily Record & Sunday Mail in 1970 as Borders/North of England circulation representative. He moved to Glasgow in …

  • Tom Hendry

    Posted: September 28th, 2020

    WHILE masterminding coverage of 10 major news stories as news editor of the Daily Mirror – including the Hillsborough and P&O ferry …

  • Alan Livermore

    Posted: June 16th, 2021

    THE AMP Committee needed strengthening following the sad departures of members Richard Polyblank and, more recently, Peter Cook, as well as Stephanie …

  • Bob Miller

    Posted: May 28th, 2022

    BOB MILLER recently replaced Russell Stewart on the AMP Committee. Russell has become an MGNPS Trustee Director.

    After working in heavy industry in …

  • Isabel Mulligan

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    Isabel Mulligan joined the Scottish Daily Record & Sunday Mail working in tele-sales. She moved over to advertising make-up and learned to …

  • Tony Patey

    Posted: October 23rd, 2017

    TONY PATEY was a rookie reporter on the Hertfordshire Mercury, and had stints with East London News Agency and the Bucks Herald, …

  • Bill Rowntree

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    BILL ROWNTREE worked his first Saturday shift for then Sunday Mirror picture editor Derek Jameson in 1964. Bill was sent to watch …

  • Malcolm Speed

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    MALCOLM SPEED retired from the Daily Record in 2006 after more than 40 years’ pensionable service. He had been news editor of …

  • David Tattersall

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    DAVID TATTERSALL started as a journalist in 1964 on the Lancashire Evening Telegraph in Blackburn, followed by a stint on The Journal in Newcastle …

  • Dennis Tinker

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    DENNIS TINKER was born in South Africa in 1949, and in 1956 travelled to England on the Carnarvon Castle ship with his …

  • Ray Weaver

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    RAY WEAVER entered newspapers in 1961 aged 20 as a photographer on the South East London Mercury. In 1964 he joined the …

  • Monty Court (honarary committe member)

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    MONTY COURT came to the AMP committee after a lifetime in Fleet Street. Following five years on provincial newspapers he joined the Evening …

  • John Hemple (honorary committee member)

    Posted: November 7th, 2019

    JOHN HEMPLE joined the Daily Mirror in 1960, one day before his fifteenth birthday. During a 41-year career with the company he …

  • Crawford McAfee (honorary committee member)

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    CRAWFORD McAFEE has been an AMP Committee Member for several years. He is now fully retired after a sub-editing career spanning 49 …

  • Alan Shillum (honorary committe member)

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    ALAN SHILLUM studied engineering but entered newspapers in 1958 aged 24 as a reporter on the Walthamstow Guardian. In 1961 he became …

  • Patricia Smyllie (honorary committe member)

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    PATRICIA SMYLLIE began her career in the Foreign Office (Berlin, London). She later became the Daily Mail’s junior foreign correspondent, then filled …

  • Stephanie Kerstein (ex-member)

    Posted: September 16th, 2015

    STEPHANIE KERSTEIN has stood down from the AMP Committee following her appointment as an MGNPS trustee.

  • Russell Stewart (ex-member)

    Posted: April 3rd, 2022

    RUSSELL STEWART has stood down from the AMP Committee following his appointment as an MGNPS trustee.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.